Review: Three Dark Crowns

I was a bit unsure of what to make of this book, but once I got into the world and knew who was who, it became like a big net of odd twists, turns, and a real interesting read. I rather enjoyed it, even with a bit of the dramatics as the story went on.

Three Dark Crowns cover art

Three Dark Crowns is written by Kendare Blake and is set on an island, where a set of triplets are born each generation. Each triplet has a different power (of sorts) and each has the same amount of claim to the crown, it is just a matter of who is the strongest. Least that is what I’ve taken from this.

Their names are Katharine: a poisoner, Arsinoe: a naturalist, and Mirabella; an elemental. Each has their own strengths and has been in training to beat out the other two for the crown of Fennbirn. A quote is written at the start of the book that puts the plot into perspective a lot better I think:

Three dark queens
are born in a glen,
sweet little triplets
will never be friends

Three dark sisters
all fair to be seen,
two to devour
and one to be Queen

From the time they turn sixteen, the clash of the Sister Queens begins, and the power hungry people behind each queen is out to win.

It was a really good read and I can see why many enjoyed it. The one thing that gets me a bit annoyed with it, is the change in perspective of the characters throughout. Going from one sister to another, then to one of their strong allies, and so on, it got a little bit frustrating at some points, but I didn’t want to put the book down. I really wanted to see the outcome from the Quickening.

But apart from that one thing that bugged me, the concept of the book was a wonderful read. It certainly showed the dynamics that can take place with siblings and their influences. I won’t go into great detail, but I cannot wait to see what happens in the sequel One Dark Throne, which should be out some time later this year.

I do hope it will answer some questions that I got when I reached the end of the book. My mouth was agape and then the next page… Acknowledgements! What?! But at least none of the Queens are dead, just yet anyway. Such a cliff-hanger. Now I really want to read the next books.

I give this book a rating of four out of five stars.

Now, onto the next read: The Bone Season and possibly The Red Queen.

Leave a Reply

