Review: Game of Thrones S7 Ep1

It has been such a long wait for this season, I am on the edge of my seat literally as I wait for the next one. The first episode of the seventh season of Game of Thrones is called Dragonstone and right from the start there is just action-packed scene after scene.

A word of warning, if you have not seen the episode yet, look away now, as this review will be heavy with spoilers.

We first see the House of Frey sitting to another feast, with Walder at the head. It’s not until that people start spitting up blood and falling that Arya appears, removing Walder’s face. With the Frey men now all lying in their own blood, she turns to a young girl and tells her “The North remembers” and that “Winter came for House Frey”.

I knew Walder was dead, having seen Arya slit his throat at the end of season six, though for a second I wondered if that had been a dream, or if this was one instead. Least until he brought out the wine and didn’t drink I knew something was up.

Walder Frey portrayed by David Bradley © HBO

That was just… I don’t know how to describe it but, BOSS! Even the next scene (after the opening credits) is amazing. Not a word spoken, but it sends chills up your spin with the now large army of the dead walking towards the Wall.

We next see Bran and Meera at the gate, meeting what is left of the Night’s Watch and returning to the other side of the Wall. He is most certainly the 3-Eyed Raven now, even how he speaks has changed from when he first appeared in the series.

Jon, now the King in the North is rallying all the Northerners to fight against the White Walkers. He is falling into the role really well I think, and giving the still unconfirmed story of his origins, it is most certainly in his blood. Even Sansa is now finding her place in this world on what she has learnt from everyone around her, whether good or bad.

Sansa Stark (Sophie Turner) & Jon Snow (Kit Harrington)

I’m still unsure of Littlefinger’s motives in this, he is one of the characters that I cannot read. I also cannot get over on how much the younger Stark children have changed so much over the seasons.

Cersei and Jaime… well, all I can say is that Cersei is almost on the brink of losing her mind, much like the Mad King before her. Even with the ships from Euron Greyjoy, I honestly don’t think it would be enough to go against Daenerys and her entire fleet.

Cersei & Jaime Lannister (Lena Heady & Nikolaj Coster-Waldau)

All I have to say with seeing Samwell in Oldtown is, poor Sam. Going through all that, I don’t envy him. After a while, I’d even stop eating the food, least from the cut scenes on what is shown… Just… *gags* Also, as soon as I saw him break into the restricted section of the Maester’s library, made me think of Harry in Philosopher’s Stone. Didn’t help much the mortician also acted in the Harry Potter films, to which I just grinned.

Samwell Tarly (John Bradley-West)

At this point, my ears pricked up. I know that singing voice anywhere – ED SHEERAN!! And it is Arya who gets to sit with him and the other men, eat and drink and even tell them where she is going and why. “I’m going to kill the Queen.” At this point I had to cringe a bit, with hearing where some of the men wish they were – on a fishing boat with their father, at home with the wife and newborn babe, I know what’s likely coming for them…

Even with the Hound and the Brotherhood going back the way he came, another sad moment of seeing people he encountered before. More death due to the big war, and more to come when the Hound sees the Wall in the flames. I actually like how the Hound has gone by this point, he is still a brash jerk, but there is something underneath it all that he keeps well hidden.

I cannot wait to see what more Samwell finds out about the Dragonglass, and what Jon Snow will do to get it from Dragonstone. Speaking of which, Dany has finally made it back to her birthplace. No words are spoken for a good five minutes, just admirational stares, musical interludes and great scenery.

Amazing set up to season seven, just epic. I loved it, and am eager to see the next episode Stormborn.

Leave a Reply

